World Cup

Who Won Yesterday World Cup 2023 Match: England vs New Zealand, October 5

In yesterday's World Cup 2023 match, New Zealand humiliated defending champions England by beating them by nine wickets in the World Cup 2023 opener at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

In the match played on Thursday, October 5, New Zealand chased down the 283-run target in just 36.2 overs thanks to an unbeaten 273-run partnership between World Cup debutant Rachin Ravindra (123* off 96) and Devon Conway (152* off 121).

The two left-hand batters hammered the England bowlers all around the park. The highlight of their innings was they played no traditional cricketing shots and made no mistake throughout their stay together for 211 balls. Earlier in the day, New Zealand stand-in captain Tom Latham invited England to bat first. The England batters got stars and each of their eleven batters scored in double digits - a feat never achieved in the history of ODI cricket. However, only Joe Root could score 77 off 86. The remaining batters failed to cross the fifty-run mark and England were restricted to 282/9 in 50 overs. England captain Jos Buttler (43 off 42) and opener Jonny Bairstow (33 off 35) were the only two England batters who crossed the 30-run mark.

New Zealand were extremely impressive with the ball. In the absence of Tim Southee, Matt Henry picked three wickets for 48 runs in 10 overs. Mitchell Santner picked a couple of wickets, giving away just 37 runs in 10 overs. Part-time off-spinner Glenn Phillips (2/17) got the big wickets of Joe Root and Moeen Ali after bowling just three overs. 23-year-old Rachin Ravindra and Trent Boult also picked a wicket each. Ravindra got the wicket of a dangerous Harry Brook (25 off 16).

World Cup 2023 Match 1: England vs New Zealand Scores: England: 281/9 in 50 overs (Joe Root 77, Jos Buttler 43; Matt Henry 3/48,). New Zealand: 283/1 in 36.2 overs (Devon Conway152*, Rachin Ravindra 123*; Sam Curran 1/47).

Result: New Zealand won by 9 wickets Toss: NZ won the toss and chose to Bowl Captains: Jos Buttler (ENG), Tom Latham (NZ)

Devon Conway scored most runs in the match. The New Zealand batter scored 152 unbeaten runs off 121 balls. His innings consisted of 19 fours and 3 sixes.

New Zealand pacer Matt Henry picked up three wickets for 48 runs in 10 overs. He picked the wickets of Dawid Malan, Jos Buttler and Sam Curran.

Rachin Ravindra of New Zealand was named Man of the Match. He came to bat at three and scored 123 unbeaten runs off 96 balls. His innings consisted of 11 four and 5 sixes. He also dismissed England's Harry Brook with his left-arm spin bowling.