World Cup

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: India Squad Revealed with Star Inclusion

In preparation for the highly anticipated 50-over Cricket World Cup set to kick off in India on October 5, 2023, Chief Selector Ajit Agarkar has officially unveiled the provisional 15-member squad for Team India. The charismatic Rohit Sharma is bestowed with the honor of leading the squad in this prestigious tournament, with the gifted Shubman Gill selected as his opening partner. Notably, Ishan Kishan secures a pivotal role as the third opener for this marquee event.

The middle-order lineup boasts a wealth of talent, with stalwarts like Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, and the versatile Ravindra Jadeja, ready to wield their bats with precision. Meanwhile, the pace bowling department is fortified with the formidable presence of Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammad Siraj, and the ever-reliable Shardul Thakur. However, Prasidh Krishna finds himself omitted from the squad.

In the spin bowling department, India is not short on options, with Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, and Axar Patel poised to play pivotal roles. KL Rahul and Ishan Kishan will share the wicketkeeping responsibilities for the squad, showcasing their versatility in this crucial tournament.

The Indian cricket team is currently engaged in the Asia Cup 2023, where they displayed their dominance by securing a resounding 10-wicket victory over Nepal at the Palleke International Stadium in Kandy on September 4th. Notably, the initial India-Pakistan match in the tournament was marred by rain, resulting in a no-result as the second innings couldn't commence.

One of the standout performances came from Ishan Kishan, who played a brilliant knock of 82 runs against arch-rivals Pakistan when India was facing adversity at 66 for 4. However, it's worth noting that Tilak Varma and Prasidh Krishna, initially part of the Asia Cup 2023 squad, have been omitted from the lineup for the upcoming Cricket World Cup.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Schedule

On paper, the Indian team appears formidable, especially with the return of players like Jasprit Bumrah, Shreyas Iyer, and KL Rahul, who have recovered from their injuries. The team is set to commence their campaign against Australia on October 8th at the M Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. Subsequently, they will lock horns with Afghanistan on October 11th at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi, followed by a match at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on October 14th.

The schedule continues with a clash against Bangladesh on October 19th at the MCA Stadium in Pune, followed by a showdown with New Zealand at Dharmshala on October 22nd. India will then face England at Lucknow on October 29th, and their next encounter is against Sri Lanka at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on November 2nd.

The team's journey includes a match against South Africa at Eden Gardens in Kolkata on November 5th, and the final fixture of the league stage against the Netherlands at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on November 12th. The top four teams emerging from the league stage will secure their spots in the semi-finals, and India aims to clinch an ICC title after a 12-year hiatus.

India’s Squad for the 2023 Cricket World Cup

·        Rohit Sharma (Captain)

·        Shubman Gill

·        Ishan Kishan

·        Virat Kohli

·        KL Rahul

·        Suryakumar Yadav

·        Shreyas Iyer

·        Hardik Pandya

·        Ravindra Jadeja

·        Shardul Thakur

·        Axar Patel

·        Mohammed Shami

·        Mohammad Siraj

·        Jasprit Bumrah

·        Kuldeep Yadav